I very much enjoyed my first presentation to the Birmingham Social Media World today.  Held as part of the Fazeley Digital Festival, I was asked to present as a relative novice.  IMG_0295I have to say I can happily present on many topics to a large audience for as long as you like, but this was daunting.  No need, they are lovely people.

Here is some of what I went on about on my first slide share, including successfully embedding it – not quite what I expected, but there it is.:

IMG_0294IMG_0302

Oh, no, how exciting, this is what I expected.  Well you live and learn…

On reflection a few things struck me:

drawnalism_headerThe idea of live animation/cartoon annotation of the conversations was fantastic.  It didn’t work as well as it could – but we were all relative novices on that point.  Drawnalism were great and a few pens in the hands of the audience would sort that for next time…

Children are way ahead of the game on this one and will take this somewhere mind-blowing in the next 10 years.  For that reason alone they are a really important part of these conversations.  (Oh and I was very proud of my dort, live blogging on club penguin – I wonder how many buddies she lost during the event!)

It would be great to see Birmingham use these kind of informal, free flowing sessions for something other than social media topics.  I am confident that all of the events I’ve been to have found great digital ways of sharing and recording ideas.  I am quite sure we are all passionate about  other topics we could put them to good use for?

Of course, I know the standard response – good idea, off you go then and we’ll be there.  That is certainly true and ordinarily I would.  But as I accepted a new job in Southampton the same day as I launched by “relative novice” speaking circuit, I’m afraid I won;t be here to do it ;-(

