It’s a year this week since I first posted my bin blog post.  That makes this blogpost all the more timely.  For the last month we’ve been living in our new flat, where we are blessed by Wheelie Bins.  I say blessed – I do like them – we have room outside to store them and can clear out our rubbish whenever we like – no more missing bins night.  My struggle with them has been that I have no idea how to capture this new habit in a weekly post.  So, I think I won’t.  There is a slim chance that some of you may miss this weekly photo, in which case I’m sorry to disappoint.  There’s a greater chance that I’ll miss the chance to have a go at the Council when they slip up with our service.  But actually I think that’s a price worth paying. I’ll still keep my eye out for interesting or useful Bins stories/photos, but for me it’s time for something new.
What? I hear you cry.  What new form of weird do you have in mind?

Baltis

I have previously been the cockney of the Balti – if indeed that is a claim – I have lived within the smell of a balti restaurant, in the heart of the Balti Triangle in Birmingham.  That smell is one of the things I miss about Brum.  So tonight, we’re going to check out our local.  The Sunrise Balti & Tandoori Restaurant.  I’m not wildly optimistic; it looks rather like the sort of place that squeezed room on its sign for the word balti – and added Chicken and Lamb Balti to its menu.  Though I should say that the review posted on bview is very positive; parking being the only issue, but I guess a 250 yd walk is probably do-able!

Anyway, this is where my new idea leapt from.  I should keep a track of the Balti restaurants we find down here and start to record what they are like.  I’m thinking of noting a few standard measures and commenting against each of them.

Of course, there is no reason to restrict it to down here – I may even begin with a quick word on our favourite for the last 20 odd years: The Punjab Paradise on Ladypool Road, Birmingham.  The picture on the left captures 3 of my friends at a Twalti earlier this year.  I have to say the service was abysmal – never sit upstairs, they just seem to forget you.  But the food was great as ever – and the company too.

I’d be very pleased to hear your ideas of the kind of areas I should be reporting on.  So far I have in mind:

  • location
  • parking
  • warmth of welcome
  • atmosphere
  • menu variety
  • provenance of food
  • taste flavour
  • licensed or not
  • price
  • after-effects

So, let me know what you think, watch this space and the Balti tag and we’ll see how well the Balti has travelled all these miles.

