I cannot begin to describe my fury and outrage I am shimmering incandescence with rage.

I take my personal responsibilities towards the environment very seriously.  I recycle lots and I depend on the often fine services of Birmingham City Council to collect and arrange for the said recycling of various types of household waste.

Our paper/bottles/metal/plastic is collected fortnightly and our due date fell on Christmas Day.  So I was a bit miffed to discover that there would be no paper etc collection on for 4 weeks due to christmas.   However, in fairness the council made it very clear in a number of places on their website:

http://www.birmingham.gov.uk/GenerateContent?CONTENT_ITEM_ID=146334&CONTENT_ITEM_TYPE=9&MENU_ID=276   and:

Usual collection date Refuse collection will be Recycling collection will be
Wednesday 24th December As normal As normal
Thursday 25th December Thursday 1st January Thursday 8th January
Friday 26th December Friday 2nd January Friday 9th January
Monday 29th December As normal As normal
Tuesday 30th December As normal As normal
Wednesday 31st December As normal As normal
Thursday 1st January As normal As normal
Friday 2nd January As normal As normal

In particular they said:  “Recycling boxes and sacks of green waste due to be collected on 25 December will be collected on 8 January 2009”.

However, I took it in my stride, created a tidy-ish pile in my own back garden

and put out my normal black bags https://parboo.wordpress.com/2008/12/31/bins-31-dec-2008-348pm/

My neighbour had less faith in BCC’s information flow and decided to test it out.  She put out a box of paper and a box of bottles etc. alongside her normal black bags.  I was smug, I fully expected to wake up to her boxes awaiting.  Oh ye of little faith said I…

So wakey, wakey rise and shine, it’s a brand new year “Happy New Year”.   But what is this I hear?  2009 has been with us, what, 6 hours and BCC have managed to foul up.  Yes, you guessed it, they took the recycling every last empty bottle of bubbly, gift wrap and can of christmas beans removed from my neighbours pile. 

So what does that mean – am I to wait another fortnight before I can do my recycling duty or will they randomly take it next week.  What is the point of them giving information out on their website if they don’t agree it first with the people actually doing the work.

Not sure I want to trust the BCC website for anything in the future.  I hereby dub them the quickest FAIL of the new year.

