Take one Update on Twitter and it’s just fascinating what can follow…

Following a chat with my 9 year old dort about the 10 Plagues of Egypt, I wondered how many “everyday folk” could remember them and which old testament book they came from.  So I asked.  It’s fair to say a couple of people took me at my word and attempted to list them all.  Well done to Abby Corfan for her 9/10 and to Digibrum_Si for correctly naming Exodus.  The correct list is of course easy to find on web, I got it from here.

So what of all the other contributions?   Well thanks to everyone here named who took a rather more entertaining slant on my query:

We’ve got a lovely list of 15 modern day plagues, in no particular order:

  1. A plague of telemarketers trying to flog thou discount kitchens
  2. A plague of consultations
  3. Credit running in the gutters
  4. A plague of consultants
  5. A plague of ill-conceived and largely unworkable laws which if fully implemented would erode our civil liberties
  6. A plague of barely caffeinated, freeze dried coffee tasting of decayed rodent droppings
  7. A plague of drunken yahoos rampaging through the city streets
  8. A swarm of Flips
  9. A plague of raging fuckwits
  10. And lo! He did smite them with toilet roll multipack wrappers that looked like they had rolls in them but were actually empty
  11. aplagueofpolypocketsscatteredonthefloorsoyouskidonthematnightandhurtyourself
  12. No WiFi
  13. A plague of chuggers
  14. A cake shortage
  15. A plague of spam

It’s fair to say that although I feel we are living with crises and disasters of a biblical nature, I was thinking more of tsunamis and terrotism, not cakes and polypockets.  Neverthelss I thought this was a great list, with some very amusing images created.  But, too many.  So, I might run a bit of a poll and see who fancied which plague as the one which best captures modern day plagues.

But first, maybe there are more out there.  What do you think, leave a comment and I’ll add to the list.

